Hey everyone

Started by Warmaster, April 09, 2016, 02:11:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic
April 09, 2016, 02:11:37 AM Last Edit: April 09, 2016, 04:57:27 AM by Warmaster
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Tenchi and anime as a whole. I watched one of the Tenchi series years ago on Toonami when it was part of Cartoon Network and just forgot about it as time went on. Well a month or so ago I just had a weird flashback to some cartoon I used to watch where the guy had a knock off lightsaber. After digging around I found out what it was called and after watching the OVA I'm hooked.

I just can't figure out why this series is so charming. I've had no interest in anime in the past but now I'm obsessed with this one show.

Seems like I came back at a good time also with OVA 4 coming out, how long will it take to be localised?

Cheers

Hellooo and welcome.  Glad to see more and more people becoming interested in the series even 20+ years after it first came out.  The OVAs are my first & favorite anime that I've ever watched.  Manga's pretty good too.

Sad to say OVA 4 will probably take awhile to be localized due to a few things (I could possibly be wrong on a couple things though) [I'm also assuming by "localized", you mean distributed in the west / dubbed in English]:

OVAs typically come out on an episode-by-episode basis.  The OVA1 episodes came out about a month apart from each other.  OVA2 came out over the course of a year (around 2 months in-between each episode release).  OVA3 came out in the span of 2003-2005.

Also, depending on who will own distribution rights in the west (viridian, i believe, owns OVA1 & OVA2/ funimation owns OVA3, tenchi in tokyo, tenchi universe [which by the way is the one you watched on toonami I believe], war on geminar/ idk who owns GXP - whoever owns the S.A.V.E. collection).